Somewhat Forgotten TV Shows:Parker Lewis Can’t Lose (1990-1993)

 

Image

 

Growing up in the late 80s and early 90s, I was introduced to many weekday and Saturday morning cartoons and TV shows. Cartoons and TV shows are what I lived for when I was child, and of course Hot Wheels and Matchbox cars. The number of cartoons that were shown in the 80s and early 90s was just incredible. There had to have been at least 30 to 50 cartoons that were in production between 1983 and 1995. A good forty percent of them were produced by Japanese animators, take for example Transformers and Voltron. As much as I enjoyed viewing cartoons, they still do not compare to entertaining well written TV shows. Well, actually Batman:The Animated Series was very close to a real TV show. Thinking back, Batman:The Animated Series was not only well written but it also dealt with adult themes. Themes that most children at the time could not relate to or understand all that well. Okay, I will create a separate post on that show later. Now let me return to the original topic at hand. Parker Lewis Can’t Lose.

 

When Parker Lewis Can’t Lose premiered in the fall of 1990 on FOX, The Wonder Years was entering season number three. Every Tuesday night you could find me in the living room viewing Wayne Arnold beating the wind out of Kevin and Paul. Now for the record, Parker Lewis was not created to compete with The Wonder Years. If anybody remembers, Parker Lewis was given a Sunday night time slot. I might be wrong about this, but Parker’s only competition was some NBC show based on Ferris Bueller and his crappy day off. The name of that NBC show was Ferris Bueller. It’s funny but many people compared Parker Lewis Can’t Lose to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. You could say that there are some simliarities, but at the end of the day they are very different shows.

 

As the title of the show suggests, Parker Lewis (Corin Nemec) cannot lose and will never lose especially with his buds Mikey (Billy Jayne) and Jerry (Troy Slaten) on his side. Almost every episode dealt with Parker and his “bros” trying to elude capture by the hot and dark principal Mrs.Musso and her butt licker assistant Lemmer (Taj Johnson). When they were not on the run from Mrs.Musso, they were either searching for ladies, hiding or taking a beating from Kubiak, or helping fellow students with their high school problems. Some episodes even had Parker and his team trying to figure out their own personal problems. So out of all of the characters, Larry Kubiak (Abe Benrubi) was my favorite one. From his huge brown paper lunch bag to his towering 6’4 height, everything about him screamed “Don’t F*** with Me!” But deep down inside he was a softie that enjoyed playing with GI Joe toys along with his much younger brother. The character of Kubiak made most young and husky boys like myself feel confident and tough to a degree. Back then if you wore husky pants you were considered a loser and an outsider! I am being very serious about this. My nickname in grade school was husky boy! (Who came up with the idea of naming big kids pants husky?)

 

To be honest with you, season one and part of season two made it into my young and impressionable memory. Why is that I stopped watching Parker right in the middle of season two? Oh, here is a word that scared me and most grade school kids. Homework! For some reason, my third grade teacher enjoyed assigning a lot of homework over the weekend. That is probably as to why I stopped viewing Parker Lewis. Math homework always took at least four hours for me to complete. According to most IMDB members, and hardcore fans, season three of Parker Lewis Can’t Lose was just horrible.In season three, Lewis abandoned his old stomping grounds, and found comfort in a box car diner. If my memory serves me correctly, Parker also found the love of his life in season three. Is this true? I have no clue. Maybe a quick Youtube search can yield a few results? Anyway, Parker Lewis Can’t Lose was a classic show that did not overstay its welcome. Now I have no clue as to why Parker Lewis Can’t Lose really ended. It might have been ratings or creative differences with FOX. All that I know is that for a year and a half I was thoroughly entertained every Sunday night, and that is all that really matters at the end of the day/show. I hope you enjoyed my short ramblings on Parker Lewis Can’t Lose. Well, I now have to synchronize my 1990 neon blue Swatch watch with my Grandma and my Grandpa! Peace!

 

Leave a Reply

